1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2012 7:17 AM by RobWood

Many to Many Relationship issue

nick_1

Title

Many to Many Relationship issue

Hi All,

I am new to filemaker pro but have done some database work in school. I am having an issue with being able to relate a many to many database. I would like to link many projects with multiple images vice versa. I thought a checked box would work, but I was getting a <value list missing>.

For each project there is a unique ID and this ID is associated with the other tables through the ID. For examlple: image1 is associated with project ID 2, and project 2 is associated with image1. I would like to have multiple project ID's associated with image1. I understand that many to many relationsips  aren't best practice. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in Advance! I can provide additional info or screen shots if my situation was difficult to understandSmile

Would I need a intermediate table to make this possible ( join )?

nick

manytomany.PNG

• 1. Re: Many to Many Relationship issue
          philmodjunk

I understand that many to many relationsips  aren't best practice.

Who told you that? Many to many relationships are a fact of life in relational database design.

Here's the standard and most flexible way to implement a many to many relationship:

Icons---<Icon_Project>---Projects

Icon::IconID = Icon_Project::IconID
          Projects::Project ID = Icon_Project::Project ID