3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2012 2:43 PM by philmodjunk

Many to many relationships

RogerKnapman

Title

Many to many relationships

Hi all,

Total noob here.  I'm having a problem setting up a many to many relationship. Basically my organization has many departments at many campuses.  There are more than one department(customer) per campus, and any particular customer can have assets at several campuses.  There's no real unit numbers per address, as we are all one larger organization.

I assume I need a join table but have yet to make this work.

Can anybody point me to an working example?

• 1. Re: Many to many relationships
          philmodjunk

Are customers and departments one and the same thing? That's how I read:

"There are more than one department(customer) per campus."

• 2. Re: Many to many relationships
            RogerKnapman

I am at odds on how to define entities.  Our whole organization is one or two departments. Seems to breakdown:

Department/division/section

However there are even smaller sub-sections that I call customers as I perform services for them. Basically,

Location a customer a

Location a customer b

Location b customer a

Location b customer c

Location c customer a

Location c customer c

Something like that. I could fake a room number, but would likely not be able to get users to pick as it's meaningless. 

I need to choose both customer and location at the same time like you can do with value lists, but then populate two fields at the same time. 

• 3. Re: Many to many relationships
              philmodjunk

This isn't something that has a clear cut answer based on what little you've shared so far. At the very least, you seem  to need

Departments----<Customers-------<Customer_Location>-----Locations

I'm using location as my term for "campus". Whether you also need tables for division and section is something I don't know from the info shared here.

Set up your match fields like this, if you haven't already done so: