4 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2014 6:22 PM by smith7180

Many to Many Self Join Relationship

EWeavis

Title

Many to Many Self Join Relationship

Hi All

I'm new to Filemaker and have got myself very confused about how to deal with a many to many self relationship (I think that's what it is?!) so any advice would be fantastic.

The situation is this: I have a table called concepts, and I want to be able to set up a relationship so that every concept is linked to other concepts that are a previous knowledge requirements to understand that concept. I.e. A concepts will have  many other 'previous concepts' that would need to be linked. By the same token the said concept could also be a 'previous concept' for many other concepts.

Is this a relationship I can display in filemaker? I have attempted it with a self join relationship, and a self join relationship with a join table, and neither seems to work properly.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Many to Many Self Join Relationship
          philmodjunk

A self join relationship with a join table would seem to be the way to go here:

Concepts----<Concept_Join>----PreviousConcepts

Concepts::__pkConceptID = Concept_Join::_fkConceptID
               PreviousConcepts::__pkConceptID = Concept_Join::_fkPrevConceptID

PreviousConcepts is a second Tutorial: What are Table Occurrences? of concepts.

See the first post of this thread for an explanation of the notation that I used: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained

Note that this relationship is "one way" you can go from concepts to previous concepts to pull up a list of previous concepts but the reverse cannot be done without additional changes made in how you manage your records in the join table.

• 2. Re: Many to Many Self Join Relationship
            EWeavis

Thanks so much, that has completely cleared it up for me.

Out of curiosity how would I go about making the the relationship 'two way'?

• 3. Re: Many to Many Self Join Relationship