6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2009 3:01 PM by CarrieB.

Maximum # of licensed users

CarrieB.

Title

Maximum # of licensed users

I am pretty new to FileMaker. I am using FileMaker Pro 10 and sharing it over the network with a few other licensed users. Occasionally, a message will come up as follows: "The maximum number of licensed users are currently using this copy of filemaker pro. Please refer to the license key section of your software documentation for further instructions. License key conflict occurred with iMac-"xxx". All files will be closed and the application will quit." This message comes up when there is only 1 or 2 other users currently in the file, so it hasn't exceeded the maximum #. My only solution is to close and re-open the file on the server. Any way to make these messages stop?

• 1. Re: Maximum # of licensed users
          TSGal

CarrieB.:

Thank you for your post.

This message comes up when the same license key is installed on two different machines.  When FileMaker Pro is launched, it reads the license key and searches the network for anyone else using the same license key.  If found, the error message that you received displays.  It does not mean the maximum number of users currently in the file.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Maximum # of licensed users
            CarrieB.
               I installed the software on each machine with their own individual license keys. Does it have anything to do with the fact that I am sharing the file over the network?
            • 3. Re: Maximum # of licensed users
              TSGal

CarrieB.:

Sharing the file over the network is fine.

Are you getting this message after using the file?  Or, after launch of FileMaker Pro?

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 4. Re: Maximum # of licensed users
                CarrieB.