7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2010 2:27 AM by dumiya

Menus grayed out

Vieenrose

Title

Menus grayed out

I just got a new iMac with Snow Leopard and I am using FileMaker 11.  I transferred my 5 (five) databases to the new iMac but I have a problem.  Three of them work fine but two of them do not.  The problems with those two are:

1. in File > Manage - "Manage" is grayed out
      2. in File > Import Records - "Import Records" is grayed out
      3. in Records - New, Duplicate and Delete are also grayed out.

Can someone explain what is going on ?  I have been using FileMaker Pro for the last 20 years and it is the first time I have such a problem.  

Thanks !!!

• 1. Re: Menus grayed out
          jaimeb82

I am new to FM, but the same issue happened to me and it turned out my username didn't have FullRights. Then I found out there was an Admin user with a full access to all the menus if I were to log as an Admin.

This is just my two cents, as I said I am new to FM and someone here may have more advice about it.

• 2. Re: Menus grayed out
            Vieenrose

Thank you for your reply.

I already tried it.  It worked for the 3 others but not the last two.  They are all FM databases so I have no clue of what is happening here.

• 3. Re: Menus grayed out
              philmodjunk

Any chance you have a script set to run when the file opens that is either paused or trapped in an infinite loop?

• 4. Re: Menus grayed out
                Vieenrose

Not that I know of... I tried to go it the "Manage Scripts" to check it out but this one is also greyed out...

Thanks for the reply

• 5. Re: Menus grayed out
                  philmodjunk

As it would for a paused or looping script.

A paused script will disply cancel/continue buttons in the status area so you should be able to check that.