10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2013 4:17 PM by NitaRazvan

Merge field and portal row

NitaRazvan

Title

Merge field and portal row

Hi everyone,

I am new to filemaker and i was struggling to solve this:

How can i pull out data from a portal row (and a specific field) into a MergeField or MergeVariable ?

so if i have multiple rows i will have multiple "MergeFields" in specific places on a layout.

I've tried and i only have data from the first row. That's driving my crazy!

Maybe it's a simple solutions but i don't get it.

Please help!

• 1. Re: Merge field and portal row
          philmodjunk

Why do you need this? Can you describe what you are doing in more detail?

Can't help thinking that there may be a much simpler approach to producing the results that you need--such as putting the merge fields inside a portal.

But a calculation can be defined that uses the List function to combine data from related records as a series of rows of data:

List ( Portaltable::Name )

for example, would produce a list of the values in Name from the related table, provided that the portal is not a filtered portal.

• 2. Re: Merge field and portal row
            NitaRazvan

Thanks for you're answer!

I am a student in medicine and i'm trying to build a database with all the diseases i have to learn. So i need to have tables with all the simptoms and somehow i have to link a disease with all the simptoms that describe this disease. Because there are so many i need to know somehow what conections i've made in database between simptoms and diseases. And i was thinking it will be nice if i have a layout with this mergefields and in this way i will see better what have i conected. (sorry if my english is not correct). 

• 3. Re: Merge field and portal row
              philmodjunk

But how does merge fields make this any better than just listing them in the portal?