7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2014 4:35 PM by ChristineGarcia

Merge records based on duplicate ID number

ChristineGarcia

Title

Merge records based on duplicate ID number

Hello,

I am attempting to merge data from duplicate records in FileMaker Pro (11). I have identified the duplicate records based on a unique ID number but am struggling with merging data from one record to the other where fields are blank. This is a very large database which makes manual copy and paste quite inefficient. I am new to FileMaker Pro and any assistance is very much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Merge records based on duplicate ID number
          philmodjunk

Have you ever created a script in FileMaker before this?

In the cases where you find duplicate records, is there never more than two records with the same duplicate ID or might there be 3, 4 or more records with the same ID?

• 2. Re: Merge records based on duplicate ID number
            ChristineGarcia

There is never more than two records with the same ID. Unfortunately, I have very very little experience in writing scripts but I can usually catch on quickly

• 3. Re: Merge records based on duplicate ID number
              philmodjunk

No problem, but knowing your inexperience tells me to make extra detailed posts.

So your script can:

Perform a find using the ! operator to find all records that have a duplicate ID
                   Sorts on the ID field to put the duplicate records in adjacent pairs of records
                   Then goes to the first record and loops through them all moving data from one record to another to merge the data.

There are some details to that which are still a bit fuzzy.

Once you have merged the data, do you then want to delete a record to remove the duplicate?