7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2011 2:08 PM by DavidJondreau

Merge Variables and if statements idea

JoshOlivas

Title

Merge Variables and if statements idea

Hi there, this is my first time posting to the forums because i just cant seem to figure out an answer on my own. I am trying to make a layout that will display sellable inventory from one table to show a text status. As the inventory levels are confidental. for example

if (Part numbers) qty is = 0 show "unavailble" if > 10 show "limited" if < 10 show "Available"

The idea is to not reference another field on the layout, but rather have a script that will check for a specified part number and check the sellable inventory and have the if statment change the merge varibles on the layout,(multiple part numbers)

So is this even close to the correct aproach? Im trying to be very particular with the layout, as it will be on an iPad and im trying to make it seem not like a table of data. But just as a quick elegant reference page for a small amount of items. 

• 1. Re: Merge Variables and if statements idea
          philmodjunk

One approach is to add three separate text objects to your layout, positioned on top of each other: Unavailable, Limited, Available.

Then use conditional formatting on each word to change the font size to 500 when you want that specific word to be invisible.

• 2. Re: Merge Variables and if statements idea
            DavidJondreau

You can use a merge variable. Call it $$Status. Add <<$$Status>> to your layout.

Then use conditional formatting on the merge variable like this:

Let(

$$Status = Case ( qty > 10 ; "Available" ; qty > 0 ; "Limited" ; "Unavailable" ) ;

""
            )

• 3. Re: Merge Variables and if statements idea
              JoshOlivas

Thanks for the replies!