6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2013 11:36 AM by dsivaa

More than one path in relationship graph

dsivaa

Title

More than one path in relationship graph

Hello Experts,
           I am new to filemaker. I am making an inventory database.
           I have a problem in making relationship with three tables. Filemaker saying more than one relationship path is not allowed.

PO
           PO_ID
           PO_Date
           Vendor_ID
           Vendor

PO_Lines
           PO_ID
           Item_ID
           Item_Name
           Qty
           Price
           Amount

Vendor_Items
           Vendor_ID
           Item_ID
           Price

When i try to use another occurance of the table Vendor_Item,
           In the PO layout, i get either Item_Id filtered or Vendor_id filtered.
           If i use Vendor_Item in the portal, it filters only Item_ID.
           If i use Vendor_Item2 in the porta,l it filters only Vendor_ID

I need to filter both Vendor_ID (from PO table) and Item_ID (from PO_Lines table) in Vendor Items portal..
           Any help would be appreciated.

circular.JPG

• 1. Re: More than one path in relationship graph
          philmodjunk

To match two related tables by two pairs of fields, select two pairs of fields as the Match fields. You can drag a second time from one occurrence to another or you can double click the relationship line to open a dialog for doing this.

But It's not clear to me that this is really what you need here.

Is each PO limited to a single Vendor?

I'd guess that if this is the case, you need a conditional value list of just the items supplied by that vendor and this does not require a relationship that matches by anything other than:
               PO::Vendor_ID = Vendor_Items::Vendor_ID

Here are some links on conditional value lists that may be helpful:

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list