4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2011 7:50 AM by philmodjunk

Move Data to another Table once active

MikeJackson

Title

Move Data to another Table once active

I am new to filemaker and I am currently adding a feature to our current database, and I am not sure of the best way to transfer data to another table. What I am looking to do is add a referral tab onto a customer record (and store info in a referral table) and if a referral becomes a customer I would like to transfer that information into the customer database. I have been reading about ways of doing this and a lookup seems to me to be the way to do it however I am not sure this is the best way. Has anybody any ideas on the best way to do this, I am aware that swapping records between tables is not great practice but I cannot think of a better way.

• 1. Re: Move Data to another Table once active
          philmodjunk

The best way would be to leave all customer and referral records in the same table so that you do not have to move them at all. A status field in this table can identify each record as either "referral" or "customer". To "move" a record from "referral" to "customer" then is just a matter of changing the value in this status field.

Finds, sorts, portal filters can all be used to isolate either referral or customer records on your layouts so that it appears you have two tables of data when you really have just one.

• 2. Re: Move Data to another Table once active
            Sorbsbuster

..and then the Status Field can include other (exclusive) options, like 'Inactive', when they move from 'Referral', to 'Customer', and then out the other side...

Way to go.

• 3. Re: Move Data to another Table once active
              MikeJackson