AnsweredAssumed Answered

Multi Comun Key Alternative

Question asked by BenN on May 4, 2014
Latest reply on May 5, 2014 by philmodjunk

Title

Multi Comun Key Alternative

I am new to Filemaker; I used flavors of SQL in the past. Using these environments I could create indexes and keys based on multiple fields. This was the logical way to build and worked great for millions of records for decades without any problems. From what I have read in this forum that is frowned upon in Filemaker. Now that I am using FM I want to use best practices for the program but my experience has my brain locked into one way of thinking and I can't seem to come up with the best way to proceed. Here is what I am trying to accomplish-

ItemsDB

•           ID (text - unique and set by our web interface)
  •      
  •           Name
  •      

SaleHeaderDB

•           SaleID (Unique)
  •      
  •           Name
  •      
  •           StartDate
  •      
  •           EndDate
  •      

SaleDetail

•           SaleHeaderID (From SaleHeaderDB)
  •      
  •           ItemID (From ItemsDB)
  •      
  •           SalePrice
  •      

We have ~40,000 items and weekly sales (sometimes twice per week) that normally contain about 10% of our items (sometimes all our items). After a year an item may be included in 30 different sales with different sale prices. I want to be able to create a new sale in the SaleHeaderDB and then add items to SaleDetailDB from our ItemsDB. The combination of SaleHeaderID and ItemID will be unique in the SaleDetailDB. Previously this is what I would have used as the index and would have done something like: INSERT INTO SaleDetailDB (SaleHeaderID, ItemID) VALUES (#, ItemsDB:ID). With no additional tables and a single line of code records can easily be created, modified, queried, etc. The simplicity and low overhead is something I really really like.