5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2013 10:42 AM by FilipePimentel

Multiple Conditional List

FilipePimentel

Title

Multiple Conditional List

Good day, 

I am kind of new with FileMaker and I am creating an accounts db. I am stuck on the creation of conditional lists to cascade to a final selection. What I mean: 

1.           User will start program and select one out of 4 companies (Cia 1, Cia 2, Cia 3 and Cia 4)
      3.           Depending on the company selection, a list of departments will be made available: I.e. If Cia 1 only Services, Sales and Constructions will be available /  If Cia 2 only Jd2 and Jd3 available / if Cia 3 only CFCA and CFCB available. And if Cia4 only Driving available. 
      5.           Then, depending on the selection of each departament (Services, Sales, etc), a list of option will be made available to each of option. Some will be the same (global option - available to any department selection).
      7.           then after that the user would be set to start entering the information like, amounts, dates, etc...

I hope I was clear enough. 

Thanks for all you help

VenkoDesigns

• 1. Re: Multiple Conditional List
          philmodjunk

I call this a Hierarchical conditional value list. WHere the value selected in field 1 controls what values are listed for field 2 and the selection in Field 2 then controls what values are listed in field 3, and so forth...

See the last link in this set of links. You can refer to the other links if you are unfamiliar with using a relationship to control a conditional value list.

There's a lot of overlap between the first two links so you can read one and skim the other. The demo file gives you several examples of different conditional value lists so you can examine them to see how they are set up. If you are using FileMaker 12, you can open this demo file from your File menu to get a converted copy of the demo file that you can examine in FileMaker 12.