8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2011 11:18 AM by philmodjunk

MULTIPLE CONDITIONAL VALUE LISTS

JessOttman

Title

MULTIPLE CONDITIONAL VALUE LISTS

Hi all,

Yep another question about conditional value lists, do forgive me i am only learning filemaker!!

I have posted already with a png graph of relationships occurring on my file. Dont seem to be getting any feedback regrding it so im just going to ask what i hope is a basic question and il try to do the rest myself.

How many conditional value lists can you have? Is 11 relating fileds too many? As in Have one field as show all values the rest on show only related values?

If so and this is possible does anyone have any advice in how i can go about doing it

Many thanks

Jess

• 1. Re: MULTIPLE CONDITIONAL VALUE LISTS
          philmodjunk

There's no pratical upper limit to the number of conditional value lists as far as I can tell. Each conditional value list requires its own relationship--so as long as you can keep adding relationships, you can keep adding more conditional value lists. The conditional value lists can be "linked" where the choice in each value list updates the options available in the next or they can be separate from one another.

• 2. Re: MULTIPLE CONDITIONAL VALUE LISTS
            JessOttman

Thank you for your reply.

I have found a post you have done in december last and i think its what im looking for.

ParentTable::ExpenseCat = ValueTable::ExpenseCat

ParentTable::ProductType = ValueTable 2::ProductType // make ValueTable 2 a table occurrence of ValueTable

If you define ValueTable with three Fields: ExpenseCat, ProductType, Item

You can define 3 value lists:

Expense Categories : specify values from ValueTable::ExpenseCat

Product Type : specify values from ValueTable::ProductType, show only related values starting from ParentTable

Items : specify values from ValueTable 2::Item, show only related values starting from ParentTable