5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2015 11:11 AM by tsmea

multiple databases and layouts

tsmea

Title

multiple databases and layouts

I am new to FileMaker Pro.  I recently converted and ooooold access database to FM.  Because of the way the information was related in the old database, I now have multiple databases.  I have two questions...

When I am in one database, and create "layouts" based on the information in another database.  Is said information from the other database now stored in this one?  I'd like to only have one database.

When trying to merge (import) in data from another database in order to simplify.  I run into a problem.  The information I am trying to import, has multiple pieces of information based on one file component.  So my main indentifier is UNITID.  In the database I am trying to import, I could have up to 30 pieces of information based on an individual UNITID, and it will only import one of them.  I am unsure of how to accomplish what I need.

THANKS!!!!!!

• 1. Re: multiple databases and layouts
          philmodjunk

I now have multiple databases

I think that you mean that you have many files to your one database. A "database", in FileMaker context, is a group of one or more files each of which can contain one or more tables--all linked in relationships.

I see no reason that your new database should consist of more than a single file with multiple tables defined inside that one file. You can import multiple times from your source files by opening a FileMaker File, Selecting Import Records | File from the File menu and specifying "New table" as the source table and your import will import the data into a new table defined to store the imported data. You can then go to Manage | Database and further modify the design of this table as well as link it to other tables in relationships.