Are you certain that those other windows are closed as well? Go under the Window menu and see if they are hidden ( show window submenu).
Positive that all windows were closed. I didnt even open windows into the other files. I had the same thought though, checked the Windows menu. No Windows listed after closing the Main file.
Filemaker often opens windows to related files automatically. These are opened as hidden windows and should be visible in the Windows | Show submenu.
(A known bug in windows sometimes keeps open windows from listing correctly in the windows menu, but you've indicated that you are using a Mac system.)
Thanks for the tip on the Show submenu. Hadnt noticed it. It shows the automatically opened files when my main file is open and not when not open. So it seems the windows are closed. But the permissions do not get updated correctly when the file is re-opened or re-logged in. Anyone got any idea how that might be. If exit FMP and restart all is well, otherwise the permissions seem to stay with those set by the first account I log into. To clarify, the main/UI file I log into takes on the re-login permissions, while the background/data files do not.
Using FMP 10 Advanced and will be moving it onto Server 10 soon (havent checked to see if problem occurs there.)