1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2011 9:55 AM by philmodjunk

Multiple due date fields

DanaHinterleitner

Title

Multiple due date fields

I work in a University Publications Office and we use filemaker to generate or work orders and track the progress of our projects. I am redesigning our work order form, from scratch. We need to list at least three "proof due" date fields with corresponding "proof returned" date fields but I would like to have a way to additional proof due and returned dates as needed. What would be the best way to do this short of having 10 "proof due" fields that show up on each form.

• 1. Re: Multiple due date fields
          philmodjunk

Use a related table for recording your due dates. Then you can use a portal and add as many due dates as you need simply by adding more related records in your portal.

• 2. Re: Multiple due date fields
            DanaHinterleitner

Thank you so much for the quick response. I am very new to file maker and I am not sure if I understand your answer. I am trying to keep each project 1 record in the file. I don't think I understand what a table is and how it relates to data in a field or a record. Searching "related table" in filemaker help didn't get me anything that I understood.

• 3. Re: Multiple due date fields
              philmodjunk

Look up "portal" in FileMaker help. This is an extremely useful feature of FileMaker and can do many things for you once you understand how to use it.

In any given file, you can define any number of different tables. Go To Manage | Database | Tables and you'll see a section of FileMaker where you can create as many different tables as you need. Once you've created a table, you can click the Fields tab to define the fields that you need for any of the tables that you've created. Click the Relationships tab and you can then link your tables in relationships.

1. Starting from the Tables tab, enter DueDates as a table name and click Create.