4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2013 7:45 PM by RaeCrothers

multiple fields in one table that fetch the same data from a related table

RaeCrothers

Title

multiple fields in one table that fetch the same data from a related table

First off, I am learning FMP (version 11 for Mac) on the fly with no formal training, so any answers would have to be a little basic. I can accept, "this is too complicated for your level" as an answer and I'll move onto something else for now.

I am using the 'FM Starting Point' database for managing my sole proprietorship. I've been able to do a lot of modifications to adapt this database to my needs, learning a lot about how FMP works. I've thus far been able to figure out all my own problems, but now one has me thoroughly stumped.

This database has a timesheet table that didn't work for my needs. I created what I wanted in Excel in order to figure out what fields and calculations I'd need, then I recreated it in FMP.

As a freelancer, I have three types of timesheet entries, per audio minute, per hour, and piecemeal. So my timesheet has those three sections (see the attached image with a dummy record). For all three sections, I want to be able to relate an entry to a project, account, and contact, which are in turn related to invoices. So for each section, I created a field related to the project, account, and contact tables that pointed to the field from which I want to get the data.

The problem is that even though I created three fields, they all act as one. If I put in a project name under the transcription section, the same project name will autopopulate to the other two sections.

Each project, contact, and account record has a category that matches my timesheet sections, so I'm thinking there might be a way to say that for each field I only want the account, contact, and project names that match a certain category, but I can't find a way to select two fields when creating the relations.