14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2010 11:06 AM by sunspotsbonaire

Multiple fields may contain same info.  How do I collate?

sunspotsbonaire

Title

Multiple fields may contain same info.  How do I collate?

I have a database for an after-school program in which the kids can choose ten different activities from a list of about 50.  Any given activity could appear in any of the ten fields (choices 1-10).

I need to be able to collate all the fields at once to determine how many kids want each activity and also which kids want which activity but I have no idea how to do this.  I am a novice with relational databases and could use some help.

Thanks

Alan 

• 1. Re: Multiple fields may contain same info.  How do I collate?
          philmodjunk

Do you know how to set up and use a "portal"? If not, this is a very useful topic you can look up in Filemaker's help system.

If you take your "10 different fields" and replace them with a portal of 10 rows (each row is a record in a related table). It'll be much, much easier to do what you want to do here. A simple summary report based on this portal's table of records could then list out how many kids have selected each activity.

• 2. Re: Multiple fields may contain same info.  How do I collate?
            sunspotsbonaire

Thanks for the rapid response.  I have never used portals and, frankly, found the help and user manual confusing.  Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Alan 

• 3. Re: Multiple fields may contain same info.  How do I collate?
              philmodjunk

A portal allows you to see and edit multiple related records in a scrolling list.

I'm guessing here that you have a table where one record records the activity selections for one student. Let's call this table Students. We can create a second table in the database called Activities to record the activity choices.

In Students, you might define the following fields:

StudentID (auto-entered serial number)

Name (text)