5 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2014 9:49 AM by philmodjunk

Multiple file search and report

GlenEvans

Title

Multiple file search and report

Hi All, 

I am completely new to Filemaker, I would like to know if what i am trying to achieve is possible.

I have a spreadsheet with a list of ID numbers, and an index from neofinder which has the file name and file paths of files  on a server. ( this is exported as a spreadsheet also)

I am trying to pull a report which will use the ID number and search the File Name column of the neofinder index spreadsheet. Giving me a "yes or No" as to whether a files are held for that ID

I would also like to pull a report of all the file paths for that particular ID into another report.

Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated. 

Screen_Shot_2014-04-30_at_17.09.26.png

• 1. Re: Multiple file search and report
          philmodjunk

From what I see in the screen shot, I am inferring that the spread sheet located behind the other lists values that correspond to the text to the left of the underscore in the file names listed in column A.

Import your spread sheets into two tables in FileMaker.

Define a calculation field for the table of filenames and file paths as:

FileID:    GetValue ( Substitute ( FileNameField ; "_" ; ¶ ) ; 1 )

Define a relationship between the two tables as:

Index::FileID = FileNamesPaths::FileID

In Index, you can then define a calculation field as:

If ( IsEmpty ( FileNamesPaths::FileID ) ; "No" ; "Yes" )

Clear the "do not evaluate if all referenced fields are empty" check box.

For your report, you don't indicate into what kind of report that you want to pull that data, but  a Summary report with a sub summary layout part "when sorted by FileID" can group your records by common FileID Value to show what files are found with a given FileID value.

• 2. Re: Multiple file search and report
            GlenEvans

Thanks PhilModJunk,

That works great for that example :-)