6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2014 9:19 AM by ShaneBess

Multiple Format Validation Calculation

ShaneBess

Title

Multiple Format Validation Calculation

I am new to Filemaker and trying to write a calculation for field validation that covers two possible formats for the same field. I have tried various forms of case and if statements that all seem like they should work, but I'm apparently doing something wrong. Can anyone here help me figure this out?

I need a field to be either 4 characters or 7 characters. If it is 4 characters, I need it to be filtered to just numerals. If it is 7 characters, I need the first three characters to be INV and the last 4 characters to be numerals. So the two possible formats are "####" and "INV####." Am I trying to do too much with a single field here?

• 1. Re: Multiple Format Validation Calculation
          SteveMartino

How do you differentiate between the two during data entry?  It seems like there are 4 numbers either way, what parameters would make the decision to add the INV?

• 2. Re: Multiple Format Validation Calculation
            ShaneBess

I was basing it on Legth. It's a validation for a manual entry. It should only accept entries at a length of 4 or 7. If it's 4, it should apply the one filter, and if it's 7 it should apply the other.

• 3. Re: Multiple Format Validation Calculation
              SteveMartino

It may be helpful to give a better description of why this is necessary, so different options can be considered.  The problem i see is what if someone enters 3,5,6, or 8 digits-or letters? Which validation should kick in? 

If the field represents 2 different types of information, say type 1 or type 2, maybe you should have the data entry user first pick the type in a drop down, then use that choice to validate.  

• 4. Re: Multiple Format Validation Calculation
                ShaneBess