7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2014 1:18 PM by MichaelAngelo

Multiple lookups from same serial number field , pulling serial numbers script and goto record...

MichaelAngelo

Title

Multiple lookups from same serial number field , pulling serial numbers script and goto record linking

I'm very new to Filemaker Pro so please excuse any improper use of terminology or syntax. I preplanned my database as recommended, have built the basic layouts, have already entered some basic data with much success but still have a couple questions if I may. Here’s the structure for my Dbase, pretty simple so far:

CONTACTS LAYOUT

- Each record has a unique Contact ID with "Auto-enter Serial Number"

- Each record contains contact info, type of contact check boxes, Projects ID numbers, Projects titles and some notes

- As it stands now there are fields to manually enter " Projects ID Numbers" and titles

PROJECTS LAYOUT

- Each Projects record has a unique Projects ID with "Auto-enter Serial Number"

- Each Projects record via validation requires the user to enter the Contact ID for the Projects lead

- Once the Contact ID for the Projects lead is entered there are "Look Ups" in place that fill the minimal contact info

- As it stands now there are fields to manually enter " Additional Contact ID Numbers and their minimum info"

- Each record contains Projects title, description, Projects type check boxes, Projects lead contact with minimum info, additional contacts with minimum info and some notes

There's much more to the Dbase, but in the sake of simplicity you get the idea. When I create a new Projects record and enter the Contact ID for the Projects lead, the "Look Ups" cause their info to auto enter, wonderful. If I change their contact records it will update in the Projects record, great. So here are my questions

QUESTION #1

MULTIPLE CONTACTS IN THE SAME PROJECTS RECORD