1 2 3 Previous Next 61 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2014 4:32 PM by Mukunda

Multiple Photos in a Container Field

Mukunda

Title

Multiple Photos in a Container Field

I'm trying to write a database in FileMaker Pro 13 which is an upgrade of one that I have in Bento.

In Bento, it was easy to drag and drop multiple photos into a container field, and to have all of them active, in that if you clicked the photo, it became larger. This seems to be impossible in Filemaker Pro, or at least I have not figured out how to do it. 

How could I do such a thing? Is it possible to do with a Portal? 

I should add that I am a beginner in Filemaker Pro. My 30 day trial runs out tomorrow. 

Thank you,

Mukunda

• 1. Re: Multiple Photos in a Container Field
          philmodjunk

Your are limited to one file to each container field. but you can define more than one container field. And even better design, you can set up a related table of records with one container field to each record and then you can add as many related records with photos as you need and have them all linked to the same parent record.

• 2. Re: Multiple Photos in a Container Field
            Mukunda

Thank you PhilModJunk. I appreciate your time and help. 

My database is one for my pottery. I do a lot of research and want to have a dynamic way to use this research in furthering my understanding of my work. 

The basic situation is that a Pot can have many Glazes, and a Glaze can be on many Pots. A Pot can also be in many Firings, and a Firing can contain many Pots. I have set up Join Tables which link Pots and Glazes, and also Pots and Firings. 

On the Layout below, the Firings portal and the Glazes portal are supposed to dynamically display the "many" Firings a Pot might be in, and the "many" Glazes that the Pot might be glazed with. It does not seem to work, and I'm sure I have an error somewhere.