6 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2010 1:27 PM by jmoorma2

Multiple Records into One Field

jmoorma2

Title

Multiple Records into One Field

I am a novice working on Windows XP with FileMaker Pro 10.

I have multiple records in a table that I need to be brought into another database in 1 field as separated values. Is this possible and if it is how would I go about doing this?

Also, please let me know if you need any other information from me.

Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: Multiple Records into One Field
          comment_1

If you have a relationship between the two, then

List ( related::field )

should do the job.

• 2. Re: Multiple Records into One Field
            jmoorma2

I have a relationship between the two. How do I do what you are suggesting by List ( related::field )?  The information is being pulled from a portal if this makes any difference.

Sorry, I am really new to FileMaker.

Thanks!

• 3. Re: Multiple Records into One Field
              jmoorma2

I was able to make a script as List ( related::field ), but now I do not know how to input it into a field so it works and appears in a box upon entering the database. How do I do this?

• 4. Re: Multiple Records into One Field
                comment_1

It would help to know more about your setup, and esp. what are you trying to accomplish by this. In general, if you have two tables, Parent and Child, a calculation in the Parent table =

List ( Child::Name )

will produce a return-separated list of names belonging to the children of the parent, e.g.:

Adam

Betty

Cecil

• 5. Re: Multiple Records into One Field
                  jmoorma2