1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 17, 2011 9:26 AM by philmodjunk

Multiple Relationships between Two Tables?

newbievin

Title

Multiple Relationships between Two Tables?

Hi,

Filemaker newbie here looking for some advice on how to design a database based on the kind of data I'm dealing with.

I have multiple brands where most brands have only 1 sub-brand of the same name, but some brands have multiple sub-brands with different names. In some cases, the sub-brand name is the actual brand name itself.

Example of the data I have: 

Brand ABC has ONLY one sub-brand named ABC.
      Brand XYZ has MULTIPLE sub-brands named DEF, GHI, KLM, and XYZ(sub-brand name=brand name).

My Brand/Sub-Brand table looks like the following. To avoid redundancy, I would like to have ONE table that consists of both brand data and sub-brand data.

I would like to design a inventory table where I can keep track of inventory of products under all sub-brands, but be able to identify the parent-brand of each product, as well.

My problem with the following design is that I cannot query the SubBrand Name, when fkBrand is NOT equal to fkSubBrand. What is the best way to build a relationship so the inventory table can query the proper data?

Thanks in advance, for all your help.

Best regards,

nbv

%E3%82%B9%E3%82%AF%E3%83%AA%E3%83%BC%E3%83%B3%E3%82%B7%E3%83%A7%E3%83%83%E3%83%88_2011-08-17_18.00.26.png

• 1. Re: Multiple Relationships between Two Tables?
          philmodjunk

Two options:

A (Not the best option, but it works:)
          Define two fields in BrandANdSubBrand: BrandID, SubBrandID so that you get this relationship:

BrandANdSubBrand::BrandID = Inventory::fkBrand AND
          BrandANdSubBrand::SubBrandID = INventory::fkSubBrand

I only posted this to help show why your current relationship doesn't work. Please use the following option:

B (A better approach)