12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2010 3:00 PM by mashikoboy

Multiplication calculation

mashikoboy

Title

Multiplication calculation

I'm new to FileMaker, and am requesting assistance in setting up a simple price list database.

Said db has a price field, and I wish to calculate sales tax, and show the resulting value in another field.

Can someone please provide some tips for solving this problem?

Many thanks in advance....

2010-08-15.png

• 1. Re: Multiplication calculation
          LaRetta_1

Is the tax a percentage?  If so, and let's assume it is 10%, your calculation (result is number) would be:

Price + Price * .10

Since multiplication and division comes before addition and subtraction, price * .10 would be computed first and then added to the Price.

• 2. Re: Multiplication calculation
            mashikoboy

Thanks, LaRetta!

How and where would I make the entries necessary for the calculation to be set up?

What is the symbol that I must choose for this operation?

I'm trying to get all of this done before an event related deadline which is nearly upon me, which is why I'm asking for assistance instead of plodding along on my own.

• 3. Re: Multiplication calculation
              LaRetta_1

How and where would I make the entries necessary for the calculation to be set up?

Go to File > Manage > Database and select the fields tab.  Your cursor will land in the Field Name slot at the bottom.  Type your field name, such as c_Amt_plus_tax and to the right where it says Type, change it to calculation, then click CreateIt is best not to use the field that you displayed above ... I suspect that it is standard text field and you should not have a slash in a field name. Delete it after you create your proper calculation or correct your field name and change its Type to calculation before continuing.

You will place your calculation within the calculation box which pops up.  Do the following steps in this sequence: