3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2012 1:38 PM by philmodjunk

Need Advice on How to Proceed

BrandeeWoleslagle

Title

Need Advice on How to Proceed

I'm new to Filemaker Pro11, but have already created a simple database with relational tables and a lovely layout, so I have gotten my feet wet.  I am now up against phase 2 of my database creation and I don't know how to proceed as it is a fair bit more complicated than what I have already done.  I need help in WHAT I should do (portals?  Another relational table?).  I can probably figure out HOW to do it once I know the correct approach.

The bottom line is that I want to be able to view the different financial aid scholarships for each of my students for each quarter in which the package is awarded during their tenure.  I don’t want to see data (or blank spaces) for timeframes in which they didn’t attend or scholarships they never received.

The complications are as follows:

• 1.  I have a constantly changing group of current students
      • 2. students attend for different lengths of time (some for 2 years, some as many as 8)
      • 3. Some scholarships are granted each year (for anywhere from 1 to 4 of the quarters during the year); some are only once during a student's tenure
      • 4. specific scholarships aren’t necessarily granted each year or each quarter
      • 5. there are 10+ scholarships which are awarded in various amounts over time and vary among the students
      • 6. no two students are alike in which scholarships they get, or how much they receive from the scholarships

Here is a simplified example of what I would like to see in case I need to be more clear: