14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2014 11:06 AM by briancrockett

Need custom text field

UnrealIsm

Title

Need custom text field

I am a IT Admin, and I am making a form so that we can track computer network information in our network for documentation. I need to create a format for two fields for consistency. Basically I need to make a "MAC Address" field and a "IP Address" field. I want it pre formatted so that all I got to do is type the info and it puts the format automatically like a phone number. So the text field would format like below.  Up address is numbers only and Mac address can contain letters and numbers.

MAC address: 00:00:00:00:00:00

IP Address: 192.168.100.100

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Need custom text field
          philmodjunk

The Following auto-enter calculation should work:

Let ( fld = Filter ( self ; 9876543210 );
                  case ( Length (fld) ≠ 12 ; self ; // input error, leave data unmodified
                            Left ( fld ; 2 ) & ":" & Middle ( fld ; 3 ; 2 ) & ":" & Middle ( fld ; 5 ; 2 ) & ":" & Middle ( fld ; 7 ) ; & ":" & Middle ( fld ; 9 ; 2 ) &
                                    ":" & Middle ( fld ; 11 ; 2 )
                           ) // case
                 ) // Let

Clear the "do not replace existing value" check box

The IP Address field would use a similar calculation but with a . separator and groups of 3 characters instead of 2.

• 2. Re: Need custom text field
            SteveMartino

Here's what I cobbled together, I'm sure theres a better way:

Go into manage database, click on Mac Address field, Auto Enter tab, check Calculated value, and enter this calc.  After you are done, uncheck "Do not replace existing value of field (if any):

Let (

@Numbers = TextFormatRemove (Filter( Customers::zzzmac address ; "0123456789" )) ;

Case(
            Length(@Numbers) = 12 ;

Left(@Numbers ; 2) & ":" &
            Middle (@Numbers; 3 ; 2) & ":" &
            Middle (@Numbers; 5 ; 2) & ":" &