10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2011 11:21 PM by DavidSmith1348

Need help calculating elapsed time in years, months, and days.

Heather

Title

Need help calculating elapsed time in years, months, and days.

I'm a self taught database user who is largely unfamiliar with mathematical functions.  I want to create a field that will calculate the length of time a student has been in my piano studio.  I have the fields "Joined Studio" and "Length of Study" created but I don't know how to program the calculation.  I want the result to show as years, months, and days.  Can anyone help me?

• 1. Re: Need help calculating elapsed time in years, months, and days.
          raybaudi

Hi

an UNSTORED calculation, result number:

If ( Joined Studio ; Get ( CurrentDate ) - Joined Studio )

will give you the total number of days.

To get years and months, you must make some assumptions, because both of them do not contain always the same number of days.

• 2. Re: Need help calculating elapsed time in years, months, and days.
            LaRetta_1

Hi Heather,

As raybaudi points out, the answer will vary depending upon what you consider a 'month' because the month varies.  However, I think we can get very close (even taking into account assumptions that the definition of a month may vary:

Case ( JoinedStudio  ≤ Get ( CurrentDate ) ;
            Let ( [
            start = JoinedStudio ;
            next = Date ( Month ( start ) + 1 ; Day ( start ) ; Year ( start ) ) ;
            end = Get ( CurrentDate ) ;
            x = 12 * ( Year ( end ) - Year ( start ) ) + Month ( end ) - Month ( start )- ( Day ( end ) < Day ( start ) ) ;
            y = Div ( x ; 12 ) ;
            m = Mod ( x ; 12 )  ;
            d = Case ( Day ( start ) > Day ( end )  ; Day ( next - Day ( next ) ) +  Day ( end )  - Day ( start )  ; Day ( end ) - Day ( start ) )
            ] ;
            y & " year" & Case ( y > 1 ; "s" )  & ", " &
            m & " month" & Case ( m > 1 ; "s" ) & ", " &