7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2014 11:36 AM by philmodjunk

Need help setting up relationships in starter solution and tables

DanielKnott

Title

Need help setting up relationships in starter solution and tables

Hi everyone, I've been working on a setup for my company to aide in interoffice communication and task management via Filemaker, though I'm a novice on the program so I apologize ahead of time. Anyway, I've gotten the hang of using the Tasks starter solution and then customizing it from there, but I've begun pulling in data from our Excel workbooks into tables on Filemaker and I've hit a bit of a snag at this point and would love some assistance. The short version of it is that I've set up pop-up menus, on the task manager interface, for Company and Contact, and ultimately what I need to be able to do is to only pull up the contacts from the selected company (company and contact information is in an Excel database, that I have yet to import into a table on my new FM project). If I need to make two tables and import the data twice I can, I'm just at a mental loop figuring out what I need to do to be able to accomplish that. If there is more information required please let me know and thank you very much. 

I've included an image with a mock company set up to illustrate what I'm trying to do. Thank you. 

Capture-1.PNG

• 1. Re: Need help setting up relationships in starter solution and tables
          philmodjunk

You will need a table of contacts and a table of companies in your solution. If this is imported from a single spreadsheet file, it is very likely that you have duplicates of your company information.

So how is your spreadsheet set up for the data that you wish to import into your starter solution?

Do you have tables in it for companies and contacts or will you need to add them?

And here's a key wrinkle that often comes up with companies and related contacts: