4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2010 12:40 PM by QuickRon

Need help w/ auto parts database model

QuickRon

Title

Need help w/ auto parts database model

I'm new to FileMaker and need to create a database to manage auto parts. The biggest challenge I'm facing is how to best create the tables & relationships to manage the "applications" of the parts.

The main Product table will contain the data that is unique to each part (ie. part number, price, weight, image, etc.). But the "application" is different. One part number (or product) can fit different Years of different Makes and Models.

"Part234" can fit:
      1987-2000 Chevy Tahoe
      1987-2002 GMC Yukon
      1986-1999 Chevy Suburban

So, what kind of table structure (& relationships) would I need to create to accommodate this kind of application data? Do I create a table for "Makes" and a different table for "Models"? Also, the Product and Makes tables would be Many-to-Many (1 product can fit many Makes and 1 Make can fit many products), so how would I set that up?

And how would I handle "Years"? If the format is "1987-2000 Chevy Tahoe", do I have a "Starting Year" and "Ending Year" fields? Do I have a table of just single years?

Thank you,
      Ron

• 1. Re: Need help w/ auto parts database model
          casey777

I would use two tables related by part number. The table for "Make" would contain fields for: part number calculation, beginning year, ending year, make, and model. Each field would have a pop-up list of previously used choices.

In a portal on the parts layout, it would show those various fields.  

• 2. Re: Need help w/ auto parts database model
            QuickRon

Hi TECman.

Thank you for your quick response.

I think I understand what you're saying. But what do you mean by a field for "part number calculation"? What is the calculation you're referring to?

And when you say "pop-up list" you mean a list with pre-populated values, where I can select multiple values at once?