2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2009 1:02 PM by agprevite

Need help with a Find Duplicates script ~ Beginner

agprevite

Title

Need help with a Find Duplicates script ~ Beginner

Howdy,

I am trying to find/remove duplicates from a FM 9 database I created. I was able to find a script that would help in doing this but I am still a beginner and am having a hard time with it. I have everything linked through a unique ID number so at least I have step 1 correct. Where I am running into the issue is within the script commands

Here is the one I found:

Show All Records

Sort Records [Restore, No Dialog] sort by ID in ascending order

Go to Record /Request/Page [First]

Replace field contents [No Dialog, 'Mark', '''']   - This is where it begins to lose me, how do I add the '''' and what does it mean?

Set Field ['global', 'ID'] - how do I add the 'ID' part?

Loop

Go to Record/Request/Page [ Next, Exit after last]

If ['Global = ID']  - ???

Set Field ['Mark', '''X'''] - How do I add the '''X'''?

Else

Set Field ['Global', 'ID'] -????

End If

End Loop

Perform Find [Restore] Find records when Mark = X

Basically, I am having an issue adding in the second criteria in the various steps.

Any help would be appreciated as I am under a deadline and this is the last thing I need to do.

Thanks!

~A :smileyhappy:

• 1. Re: Need help with a Find Duplicates script ~ Beginner
          philmodjunk

What version of Filemaker are you using? I'm assuming from your questions that your using a fairly recent version of FMP.

The script example you've found appears to be drawn from an older version. With more recent versions of Filemaker, references to fields in scripts have changed from "Fieldname" to "TableName::Fieldname". Since your script example uses just "Fieldname", it won't perfectly match what you see in your version of filemaker pro.

My comments are in italics.

Show All Records