5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2011 4:05 PM by philmodjunk

Need help with Conditional Value Lists (I think.)

DanielleCornelius

Title

Need help with Conditional Value Lists (I think.)

Hello FileMaker friends,

I used to be an Access/MSSQL database developer so I sort of know my way around databases. I've had to dust off my skills but I used to be a natural! :)

When I made the transition from PC to Mac I've been so happy with the general user-friendliness of Mac products.

With the exception of FileMaker. (I have version 10)

I am having a really hard time figuring out what seemed really simple in Access. This is making my brain melt because I haven't had this issue with any of the other migrations I've made. Usually Mac programs are by far more superior in the user-friendliness department.

So I'm hoping that this is a situation where the Mac version is just so much easier that it's going right past me.

I'm trying to create a very simple database with 2 tables.

1) CLIENTS
      2) VISITS

Table 1 is names and identifying information for my clients.
      Table 2 is detailed information about each one of their visits.

It's set up to be relational via a unique Client ID.

When a client comes in for a visit, I want to be able to:

- look up the client
      - see a list of their most recent visits
      - add a new visit record

This would have been super simple in Access but I've been stuck all day trying to figure it out. I think I am supposed to use a Conditional Value List and I set one up but I can't seem to be able to make it work the way I want, which is to select the name from a drop down and then see a list of related values from the VISITS table.

I know a Portal technically does this, but I don't want it in a table format like a portal does.