5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2012 8:17 AM by philmodjunk

Need help with laying out table relationships

JohnWozniak

Title

Need help with laying out table relationships

Let me first say that I am a total noob here, so please forgive my ignorance.  I want to up a DB to log Chassis/Tire setups for race cars.  I have already laid out the tables I need for the info I want to log, but I am not sure what the proper relationships between the tables should be.

Car table; has basic car details e.g. models, year, etc.

Track table; has basic details on various tracks e.g. track name, location, etc.

Chassis table; details on suspension setups and corner balancing info

Tire table; details on various tires e.g. brands, models, sizes

Pyro table; a log of tire temps after each run

Here is how the data comes together, for a specific car at a specific track we will use a specific chassis setup with a specific set of tires.  So what we need to figure out is what is the best chassis setup for the tires we are going to use at that specific track on that specific car.  The way we figure out the proper chassis setup is, first we determine what tires will be using at that track, then we set the chassis to generic settings, run the car around the track a few times and bring the car in to record tire temps.  Using those tire temp details we will adjust the chassis, and then do the process over again and again.  We do this multiple times looking for the optimal settings for the best tire traction on the track.