1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2014 6:11 PM by philmodjunk

Need help with my ERD.

kopeltd

Title

Need help with my ERD.

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker. I am trying to design a solution for my business so my invoicing will be more efficient. I am running a small electrical business. Sometimes I do my own jobs where I charge fixed price and sometimes I supply labour for bigger firms where I charge hourly rates for each person I supply. This rate values are sometimes different and sometimes the same for clients. Each rate has got its name which are the same for every client. I.e. Rate A, Rate B, Rate C, Fare, Travel Time, OTA.     Also client can change a rate value over time. I can't figure out where shall I put my Rates.At the minute my ERD looks like this.

customer ---//Contact ---//Invoice//---InvoiceLineItems//---Product

Any help much appreciated.

Thank you

Lucas

• 1. Re: Need help with my ERD.
          philmodjunk

It may help to think of the Product table as a "Products and Services" table as you can list your different labor and travel charge items as additional records in this table. That would make Rate A, Rate B, Rate C, Fare, Travel Time, OTA different records in your products table and you can select the appropriate rates and specify a quantity (number of man hours) to add that charge to the invoice.

All product and labor unit charges should be copied by an auto-enter field option to InvoiceLineItems. That way, future changes to the cost of an item in products will only affect the next new invoice to be created and past invoices will still show the amounts that were "current" at the time the invoice was created.

• 2. Re: Need help with my ERD.
            kopeltd

Ok, I think I understand that. 

I have got 20 different clients that I supply Labour to. Most of them has got different hourly rates. Is there a way to have a drop down field that will only show rates linked to this customer?

• 3. Re: Need help with my ERD.