4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2010 2:24 PM by biswasg

Need help with Portal in FileMaker Pro ver 7

biswasg

Title

Need help with Portal in FileMaker Pro ver 7

I have four tables in the database with the following relationship: TableA -> TableB -> TableC <- TableD. The -> indicates one-to-many relationship while <- indicates many-to-one relationship.

When I create a portal with the TableC under TableD in the layout and the portal fields include related fields from Table B and Table A, everything woks fine. However, when I create a portal with TableC under TableA in the layout and include related fields from TableB and TableA, the portal output generates all the related records from TableC but value in the related fields from TableB and TableA only shows the first matched value. As I am new to FileMAker, I am obviously missing some trick here. Can someone help?

• 1. Re: Need help with Portal in FileMaker Pro ver 7
          philmodjunk

More likely you are missing some detail in how you've constructed the relationships or layout. I'd also double check the values in each match field to make sure they have the values you expect.

"in the related fields from ... TableA only show the first matched value"

That's a puzzling description. Since your layout is based on TableA, why put fields from TableA in the portal? (They should all show the same value for every row in your portal.)

• 2. Re: Need help with Portal in FileMaker Pro ver 7
            biswasg

Thanks Phil for your reply.

In my querry, I forgot one more related table in between A and B: The relationship is like this

TableA -> Table E->TableB -> TableC <- TableD