7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2010 10:37 AM by Nerico_1

Need Help with script to create records for histogram

Nerico_1

Title

Need Help with script to create records for histogram

I'm very new to scripting and need help creating a script that will generate records one table based on the data on an existing table.  The end result is to be able to create e histogram of exam grades.  Since each exam has a different number of questions, the possible scores (percent correct) for each exam will vary.  The main grades table has all student scores.  The second table just has 3 fields, a foreign key to identify the particular exam, a field to capture each of the actual scores and a field to keep count of each score.

For example, the most recent exam has:

3 records with 66.67%

4 records with 68.75%

2 records with 70.83%

etc... till

6 records with 100.00%

these are the values that would go into the count and score fields on this second table, respectively.

Any help on creating a script for this will be much appreciated.  Even help in letting me know whether I'm even going about solving this problem in a useful manner vs. making things more complicated than they need to be would be great.  I've tried so many dead ends, my head is about to explode.

• 1. Re: Need Help with script to create records for histogram
          philmodjunk

Heres a demo file of one possible approach:  http://www.4shared.com/file/WhIXK_hZ/HistogramDemo.html

HistogramDemo is a table limited only to fields that serve as relational keys to link to specific records in scores. You can delete all records in this table without affecting any real data. You enter the minimum and maximum scores, an exam ID and specify the desired interval. You then create records in this table until the last record created is greater than or equal to the maximum score. Then switch to the last layout to see a chart of the resulting historgram. The scores table lists sample data of possible scores.