9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2011 9:53 AM by philmodjunk

Need Script for finding "Max Date"???

kitt316

Title

Need Script for finding "Max Date"???

Ok, I'm still quite new to scripting and programing Filemaker, but I'm hoping you guys can give me some help. I have a database that has all my part numbers in it. Within it is a portal that pulls all the info on when the part was made, who it was made for, job number, po number, etc. What I'm looking to do is quickly find all parts that haven't been made in say 7 years, and create a list. Can someone help me find the easiest way to do this? If I look for specific dates, it still comes up with the newer ones, because that date range falls in there, but it isn't "maxing" it. Like the part has been used again since then, but it still displays. Thank you!!! -Matt

• 1. Re: Need Script for finding "Max Date"???
          philmodjunk

Make sure your date fields are of type date.

Then if you want all records dated earlier than 1/1/2004, use < 1/1/2004 as your search criteria.

• 2. Re: Need Script for finding "Max Date"???
            kitt316

They are date fields....I tried doing this and it still pulls up any result that has those dates, which includes parts with newer dates as well. I'm not sure why it's doing this. I didn't create this database, so I'm trying to learn what the other guy did, and learn by doing.

• 3. Re: Need Script for finding "Max Date"???
              philmodjunk

Can you describe in detail how you are trying to do this?

Check the layout design where you are performing the find.

Are you entering such criteria in a portal and after performing your find, you see other rows of data with other dates in this portal?

• 4. Re: Need Script for finding "Max Date"???
                kitt316