0 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2009 10:49 AM by MagGyver

Need to share data with web users, using ESS, not sure if I have it right

MagGyver

Title

Need to share data with web users, using ESS, not sure if I have it right

I'm new to FMP and admittedly somewhat new to DBA. I am volunteering for my non-profit org to centralize our community's contact information (currently spread across Word files w/tables & other misc. means). I've created my DB and am now ready to open it up so a few other users can help me maintain it. I've come across some questions about the way to do things as I've been learning and would love it if any of you have any guidance for me. Thanks a bunch. Primary question in bold at end of each section.

- I'd like to upload the info to our domain which has MySQL/phpMyAdmin already installed and link to it live using ESS. I've done a test run of this, exporting just 4 fields as a CSV file from the local DB, then creating a blank table in the new SQL DB with corresponding column names, matching the syntax exactly. I successfully imported the file and was able to see the data when browsing through phpMyAdmin. These were simple text fields. I have value lists which will need to be exported as well - will they translate? What are the formatting limitations, if any, when converting from FMP to MySQL?

- When I set up the column names for the fields in the blank database in MySQL prior to importing my data, I made all 4 fields a primary key rather than a unique, index or fulltext key. Do I need to make all fields that will correspond to my local DB primary keys, or only one? What is the criteria for primary key if so?