1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 31, 2014 7:26 AM by mknightnps

Neophyte Questions, Clearing dependent fields, help with portals

mknightnps

Title

Neophyte Questions, Clearing dependent fields, help with portals

I'm a neopyhte filemaker developer and I'm starting to get into some more advanced (at least to me) techniques. I've reached the point where I am exceeding what the manuals/training resources available explain. I'm getting hung up and have driven myself to near madness trying to resolve these problems without help. I apologize for the length of the post. If this is an inappropriate place to submit this and/or if there are other forums or places out there where I might get help please feel free to suggest them. Screenshots are attached for visual explanation.

Inquiry: I have a "customer contact" table and layout where:

• each contact is assigned to one customer
      •      
      • each contact is assigned to many projects (see below for info on projects)      

• each project is assigned to one product. Each product is only related to one customer. Each product can be modified many times thus it can have many associated projects.
        •           
        • each project can have many customer contacts
        •      

•      
      • Problem: I want a portal that shows the projects that the customercontact is assigned to. I understand how to make this work when each project can only have one customer contact but not many.
      Inquiry: I have a projects table and layout where:

• each project can have one customer assigned to it
      •      
      •      

• each customer has a customer service rep assigned to it
        •           
        • each customer has a sales rep assigned to it
        •           
        • each project has a product assigned (only products that belong to that customer)
        •           
        • each customer has many contacts