0 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2013 9:42 AM by ScottSmith

New Business db

ScottSmith

Title

New Business db

Hello all!

I inherited a database that just feels very bloated and just doesn't use the power of filemaker. It's just a list of information.  I am looking at starting from scratch to build it so relationships make sense etc..  I'm a novice but think I could get it right with some help to first set it up.

The database is focused around products.  I basically want to keep track of:

A.  Product information 

B.  Vendor Information of the product  ( I might get a quote from 2 different vendors on the same product.. so should the pricing be located on the product table or vendor?)

C. Customer info related to the product.  (Have I shown it to them, did they buy it, comments etc... would this belocated on product or customer?

D.  Meetings -  ex:  at meeting 1  they selected 20 products.. I'd like to have a list of item #'s  of products that they picked and notes

What's the best way to set up the bones of the db?

If I set up  these tables.

Products

Vendor

Customer

Meetings

What fields should be the relational fields for each?

Some functions I'd like to be able to perform are:

1.  Go to a vendor and see a list of all the products they quoted and what stage they are at etc.  (keeping in mind that some products might have a quote from 2 vendors.

2.  Look at a customer,  select a certain buyer within that customer.... and see what items they've selected and what stage that product is at. (shown, selected, purchased)

--   I might show a product to 4 customers and sell at different prices.. so seeing all that info on the product record is great.. but I'm not sure where to have the fields located

3. See a list of products a customer selected at particular meeting and the notes on each product from that meeting.