1 2 3 4 Previous Next 57 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2009 8:46 AM by philmodjunk

New database project, struggling to find a table/relationship structure that fits

smashingly1

Title

New database project, struggling to find a table/relationship structure that fits

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to FMP but have worked with databases & tables before - unfortunately not experienced enough to know the answer to my question, so I need everyone's help! Somebody handed me this project after they had a crack at it, they had no experience with databases at all and had watched a few videos and suddenly reached their limitations.  So the tables & layout are already in place, but the database isn't live so I can carve it up however I need to.  If my description of the fields sounds a bit weird, it's because I've had to change a few details for confidentiality reasons.

The simplest way to describe the database is to say that it starts out as a simple contact database - a Person table with fields like name, address, nationality, photo, next-of-kin, etc etc.  Additional information stored per person is passport, visas held, current annual leave details, and radios 1 & 2 (some of the people on this database carry 2-way radios).  Because this database is for managing a team of staff & security which travel around a lot, its main function will be to manage the travel paperwork, visas, declarations, etc for the group of people, associated staff and security people.  Currently all the travel paperwork for a team of 30 people has to be filled out every few days, and the idea of using an FMP database is to have this paperwork produced with a few mouse clicks instead, as well as making it easier to track, report on, etc.

So the database design currently consists of a Person table with those records, as well as a primary key field PersonID.   There is also a Radios table containing fields serial_num, make_model, battery_type, and PersonIDfk as the foreign key.