5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2013 8:39 AM by MatthewCharron

New instances of a table

MatthewCharron

Title

New instances of a table

Greetings,

I'm a super newbie at filemaker (and databases in general), but I've been programming for a long time.

I'm trying to make an exhibit maintenance checksheet program using an inventory database of all the exhibits in a museum. I have already created the program, but what I really need to do is somehow put this table inside of a "Date" table so then someone can check all the exhibits daily and all of this data is stored so that on any day someone can look at which exhibit is broken.

So in a nutshell, I need to create a new instance of a table whenever a new record is created. A "Table of Tables" If you will. I looked at portals but I'm not sure how that would work. Think of this more like a work order program of sorts.

I'm only asking because I'm incredibly desperate and can't find much info on this in a ton of books I've skimmed through. I can attach pictures if that would be more helpful.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: New instances of a table
          philmodjunk

How is your data organized in tables now? Do you have a single table where one record represents a single exhibit? Is there a data field in that record that records "when that exhibit is broken"?

Or did you set up multiple tables--one for each type or exhibit or something?

• 2. Re: New instances of a table
            MatthewCharron

Hi Phil, thanks for replying!

Right now there is a single table with each record being a particular exhibit which is tied to fields.

http://imageshack.com/a/img20/5628/wyzs.jpg

I have also created a layout based on that inventory table in list view that shows this database as I want it to be used for, which is a maintenance log of sorts. This was just used as a basic prototype based on one day. It works great for one day. Though I want to be able use have this info saved everyday.

http://imageshack.com/a/img844/9640/p4ce.jpg