7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2010 2:03 PM by JeffP

New to databases

ThomasShaw

Title

New to databases

Hello all,

I'm new to databases and attempting to get my head wrapped around how FileMaker operates and handles relationships.

I'll start off with a simple question and move forward with more complex questions in later postings.

I have a table called Vendors and another called Notes.  I'm using a one-to-many relationship thinking along the lines that one vendor can have many notes.  I've got PK and FK set up accordingly from Vendor to Notes in the Relationships Graph.

What I'm wanting to accomplish is have a portal that lists all related notes for the vendor and I've made it to that point.  My Notes Table has Date, Subject, Note.

I want the Subject and Date to show up in my portal- which it does.  But here's the part I can't figure out.  I want a separate field that's large and outside of the portal listing to display the contents of the selected note in the portal list.  So as I click on a note subject in the portal, the note field's content change with the selected note record.

I apologize if this does not make sense.

• 1. Re: New to databases
          JoshJay

You could always use a pop up window to display the note.  You would just set the portal row to use the "Go to related record" script step and have it use a new window.  You can design a specific layout just for the note and use it in this script step.

• 2. Re: New to databases
            philmodjunk

Do you need to be able to edit the note or just read it?

If you just want to read it, you could set up a tool tip for the fields in your portal row and then hovering the mouse over a field in the portal will pop up the message.