5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2009 8:14 AM by TSGal

New to Filemaker

dyzan

Title

New to Filemaker

Hello.. I am new to filemaker and I am trying to create a database that performs these functions...
      collect volunteer contact information...
      volunteers work for groups ... I need to track when a volunteer signs in and out and put these hours towards the group they work for...
      calculate total hours for the groups
      also know what area the volunteer was working in
      keep track of any equipment signed out to a volunteer... (Radio, Shirt, Cart.. ect...)

Is file maker pro capable of this?...
      Also.. if it is .. would it be easier to just make more tables for the required information.. or seperate Databases for each task?
      Thanks for any help...

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker
          TSGal

dyzan:

Thank you for your post.

Volunteer information can be put into a "Contacts" Table.  This is straight-forward, and it is available in any database product.

-Volunteers work for groups

Yes, this is also possible.  You may want to have a separate "Groups" table.  This way, there could be a lot of information about each Group.

- I need to track when a volunteer signs in and out and put these hours towards the group they work for...

Yes, you would create a "TimeCard" table that links to the Contacts Table as well as the Groups Table.  Here, you would select the Contact, the Group, and then the start and end times.

- calculate total hours for the groups

Since you have a link from the "TimeCard" table into the Groups table, you can list the Group table and view all volunteer hours in the TimeCard table associated with each group, where you can then count the number of timecard entries as well as total the hours.

- also know what area the volunteer was working in