1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 25, 2011 1:03 PM by philmodjunk

New to Filemaker

MauricioJurin

Title

New to Filemaker

I am new to Filamaker and am stuck creating a report. I have 2 tables, one called BUYERS and the other one called EQT (EQUIPMENT). Both tables are related by a BUYERID which links the buyers table to the equipment table. One buyer could have multiple entries in the equipment table.

The equipment table is a list of equipment owned by each buyer. I have a one-to-many relationship between the BUYER and EQT tables. I want to find buyers that own at least one equipment of a certain brand or type.

I want a field where I can type in a brand or equipment type, and get a list of buyers. In the equipment table I have a brand field as well as an equipment type field.

Thanks for the help!

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker
          philmodjunk

You currently have this relationship:

Buyers-----<EQT

Buyers::BuyerID = EQT::BuyerID

I'm guessing here that you are using FileMaker 11. That gives us a fairly simple option for this.

Add this relationship to what you already have:

Buyers::BuyerID X AllBuyers::BuyerID

In Manage | Database | Relationships, select Buyers, then click the button with two green plus signs to make a new table occurrence of Buyers and name it AllBuyers. Drag from BuyerID in one box to BuyerID in the other, then double click the new relationship line to pop up a dialog where you can change = to X. The X operater means that any record in Buyers will match to every record in AllBuyers.

In the same fashion, add a new table occurrence of EQT, AllBuyers_EQT and link it to AllBuyers by EquipmentID.

AllBuyers::BuyerID = AllBuyers_EQT::BuyerID

Define two text fields in Buyers as Brand and EQTtype.

In layout mode, add a portal to AllBuyers on your Buyers layout. In the portal setup... dialog that pops up, click the Portal filter check box and enter this filter expression: