1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 29, 2012 10:52 PM by philmodjunk

New to Filemaker Pro Need Help

JoeChristensen

Title

New to Filemaker Pro Need Help

I'm very new to filemaker pro and databases so this is a tough one for me and I don't know where to look to figure it out.  I have a database of contact information for customers, lets call it database 1.  I also have a seperate database of individual sales records, lets call it database 2.  What I'm trying to do is list relevant sales records from database 2 below the contact information of each of my customers on database 1.  When you click on the sales record, I want it to pop up the full record from database 2.  Can anyone walk me through the process to do this or show me a relevant tutorial?

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker Pro Need Help
          philmodjunk

Let's not call these database 1 and 2. The reason for not doing that is that a "database" is more than a single table. It can even be more than a single file, it can be a system of many files with many tables in each file, all linked in relationships.

You have a customers table and some kind of sales table. (sales info often consists of more than one table--often a system of 3 related tables.)

The relationship linking them should be similar to this:

Customers::CustomerID = Sales::CustomerID

Customers::CustomerID should be an auto-entered serial number. Sales::CustomerID would be a number field, NOT an auto-entered serial.

You might thing that your report layout should be based on Customers, but it's often better to base it on the Sales layout.

Create a layout based on Sales. That means that "sales" is selected in "Show Records From" in Layout Setup... Use Part SetUp to add a sub summary part "when sorted by" CustomerID. Use the "print above" option so you can list the sales info below this sub summary part.