9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2010 1:03 PM by philmodjunk

New to Filemaker, Help Please

ChristopherAtkinson

Title

New to Filemaker, Help Please

Hi Everyone,

I have a master table of zipcodes that i have already created. On a daily basis i get files with Name and full postal (including zipcode).

Once i create a table with these files i want to run a script of some sort that matches the zipcodes from the master table to the new table created and output a report with name and full postal of those records that match and from there download this report to an excel document.

I am new to filemaker and i have no idea how to do this. Can anyone help me out here?

Thanks in advance

Chris

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker, Help Please
          philmodjunk

With relational databases, you don't need to run a script to match values in one table to values in another. Instead, you create a relationship that links your two tables.

ImportTable::Zipcode = MasterZipcodeTable::Zipcode

You can create this in Manage | Database | Relationships by dragging from the zipcode field in one table to the zipcode table in the other.

Then you can perform a find for all records in ImportTable that have matching records in MasterZipcodeTable.

1. Place the MasterZipcodeTable::Zipcode field on the ImportTable layout.
          2. Enter find mode (return to browse mode and click the find button)
          3. Enter an asterisk (*) into this field
          4. Perform the find (click the perform find button)

As new as your are to FileMaker and databases, you'll want to invest some time in some tutorials and possibly a book on the subject to help you gain a better understanding of how this works.

• 2. Re: New to Filemaker, Help Please
            ChristopherAtkinson

Hi Phil,

Thanks for your instructions. I had already done everything to linking the tables together, however when i get to running the perform find i am running into problems.