6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2014 8:51 AM by SueBenford

New to FM -help with address info please

SueBenford

Title

New to FM -help with address info please

Hello, please forgive me - I'm brand new to FM and am starting to see what it is capable of and need to set up a database for work.  We want to have customer files and then tabs for quotes, survey, invoice, aftersales but what I need to find out is for the address/contact info do I have to do this on every tab or do I do it as a portal?  It's just that if we ever want to print out just one of these bits of info I need to have that info on each page so not sure in which way I should insert it?  Any direction would be greatly appreciated thank you!

• 1. Re: New to FM -help with address info please
          philmodjunk

Much of that I can't  answer without a more detailed understanding of what your want to do with your database.

customer files ...quotes, survey, invoice, aftersales

sound like a possible list of tables for your database linked in relationships. You might have more than one quote record for a customer, and more than one invoice for a customer. "Survey" and "aftersales" also sound like additional tables or even groups of related tables, but it all depends on what these represent and what data you might need to record for each.

for the address/contact info do I have to do this on every tab or do I do it as a portal?