8 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2015 7:41 AM by philmodjunk

New to Portals. Plz Halp!

RexSF

Title

New to Portals. Plz Halp!

Hello Geniuses! 

I'm relatively new to FMP and have been tearing apart the internet trying to figure out how to create a portal that does what I need it to do. 

The Scenario: 

I have a music library table and a composer table. I want to create a portal to display the tracks from the library that a composer has written, on the composer's record in a layout. 

The Composer table has the following relevant fields: 

- Composer #

- Composer Name

The Library Table has the following relevant fields: 

- Composer 1

- Composer 2

- Composer 3

- Composer 4

- Track #

- Track Title

- Date Created

What are the steps to create this portal and have it auto-update as new tracks are added to the library and new composers are added to the composers table? 

If you know of another post that covers this, please feel free to just link me to it. 

I appreciate your help! 

Best,

-Alex

• 1. Re: New to Portals. Plz Halp!
          philmodjunk

You'll need to use a different set up than separate composer fields in the Library table. Is this to show more than one composer for a given track? If so, this is a many to many relationship and you need a third table to serve as the "join table" between composers and Library. Your portal, in many cases, would be to this join table.

• 2. Re: New to Portals. Plz Halp!
            RexSF

This is to show more than one composer for a given track, yes. Join table. Gotcha. I have an idea of how this works, but a little guidance would be greatly appreciated. How would I go about setting this up? 

• 3. Re: New to Portals. Plz Halp!
              philmodjunk

This question pops up so frequently, that I set up a widget in the Known Bugs List to write it for me:

Start with these relationships:

Composers-----<Composer_Track>-----Library

Composers::__pkComposerID = Composer_Track::_fkComposerID