5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2013 10:13 AM by philmodjunk

New to the forum : looking to create a Library database

RuiGuerreiro

Title

New to the forum : looking to create a Library database

Hello everyone,

I'm really new to both the forum and Filemaker, so I thought I'd present myself to the community and then post a couple questions.

I’m from Portugal, and I’m currently starting to plan how to best organize the content of several dozens of boxes filled with books, magazines, manuscripts, personal objects, stamps, records, etc, etc., that were left by my late grandfather. He was always really active in the local community, and now, with the help of the same community and some local organizations, we’re trying to organize his belongings and later make them available to everyone. So, first we need to get organized. Such a collection of items needs to be properly catalogued, both to know what exactly is there and also to make it easy for people to use the resources later on.

After looking around, I came across a couple of “ready to use” solutions for the Mac, which is what I’m using, like Bookpedia, Delicious Library, Librarian Pro and a few more. These are much less expensive than professional cataloguing software, and even compared to Filemaker, but they are very limited in what you can do and a bit too closed when you need to customize them to something as particular and complex as this collection. So I’m really thinking about purchasing Filemaker. Although it is a big investment for a non-profit, I think it will make a huge difference in the long run, just because I can build a unique platform from the ground up, specifically tailored to our needs.